How do I start a Live Session?

Please note

Currently available only on BandLab Web!

Live Sessions is now available on BandLab Web! This means you can work on a project together with your friends across the world in real-time! Here's how to get started:

How to invite collaborators and start a Live Session

  1. Start a new project on the Mix Editor or open any project from your Library
  2. Click on the Collaborators Icon at the bottom right of the Mix Editor

    Step_1__S_.png
    1. If you haven't already, click on the Triple Dot Icon at the top right corner of the Collaboration Modal and choose Invite Collaborators

      Step_2.png

    2. Enter the usernames or emails of the users you wish to collaborate with, and leave them a message!
    3. Click Send Invite
  3. Once you've invited your Collaborators, click on Start Live Session and your Collaborators will be able to join the Live Session once they've accepted your invite
  4. You will now be in Edit Mode - only you can record and edit. Any Collaborator who joins the Live Session will be in View Mode - which allows them to preview the session but not make any changes 

How to Join a Live Session (as a Collaborator)

  1. Click the Notification Bell Icon followed by the See pending invites Icon and Accept the project invite

    Join_2.png
  2. After accepting the invite, click Go to Project
  3. Click Open in Mix Editor 
  4. Click on the Collaborators Icon at the bottom right of the Mix Editor
  5. Click Join

    Step_4b.png|

  6. You will now be in View Mode - which allows you to preview the session but not make any changes 

How to share your Live Session  

  1. Click on the Collaborators Icon at the bottom right of the Mix Editor
  2. Click on the Triple Dot Icon at the top right corner of the Collaboration Modal and choose Share Link

    Step_5.png
  3. You can send the message to your Collaborators via Chat for them to easily join your Live Session! You can also copy that message and send it to your Collaborators via any other messaging platform.

    Share_1.png


How do you handover control? 

By default, the person starting the Live Session is in Edit Mode - only one person can record and edit at once.

  1. Once you are done editing,  click the Allow Control Icon in the Collaborators Modal

    Step_6.png

  2. Select which Session Collabator you wish to Allow Control to

    Step_7.png
  3. Click Allow

    Step_8_.png
  4. The Collaborator you selected will be in Edit Mode. You will now be in View Mode.
34 out of 34 found this helpful